

Population declines in majority of municipalities

- There were 107 municipalities defined in New Brunswick at the time of the 2016 Census. These included 8 cities, 26 towns, 65 villages, 7 rural communities and 1 regional municipality.
- Between 2011 and 2016, 80 municipalities lost population, 26 saw their population increase and 1 reported no change in their level.
- Four of New Brunswick's eight cities gained population between 2011 and 2016: Dieppe (+8.9%), Moncton (+4.1%), Fredericton (+3.6%) and Edmundston (+3.4%). The four remaining cities (Miramichi, Bathurst, Saint John and Campbellton) lost population, with Campbellton suffering the largest decline (-6.8%).
- All 18 Indian reserves in the province participated in the 2016 Census. Together, they were home to 8,163 people, a 3.9% increase from 2011.



